Lecturers

Name Contact Information Special Interests
Jill A. Bakehorn
Lecturer
jabakehorn@berkeley.edu
Tues/ Thurs 11:00-12:30pm
Gender, Sexuality, Fringe Cultures, Sex Work, Food
Andrew Barlow
Continuing Lecturer
510-642-4289
barlow@berkeley.edu
Tues 5:30-6:30pm, Thurs 4:00-5:00pm
Sociology of race and ethnicity, economic sociology, sociology of law
Sylvia Flatt sjflatt2012@gmail.com
Thursday 3-4:30pm
Christoph Hermann
Lecturer
hermann@berkeley.edu
Mon 11:00-12:30pm, Tues 12:00-1:30pm, Thurs 3:00-4:30pm
Economic and political sociology, sociology of work, commodification, european integration
Linus Huang
Continuing Lecturer
lbhuang@berkeley.edu
Mon 11:30-12:30pm, Wed 12:30-1:30pm
Organizations, work, sports, technology & society
Szonja Ivester
Lecturer
szonja@berkeley.edu
Mon/ Wed 3:30-6:00pm
social inequality, class analysis, gender, political elites, globalization, socialist societies
John W Kaiser j_kaiser@berkeley.edu
By Appointment
carework and healthcare delivery; medical sociology; mechanisms of inequality; feminist theory; race, class, gender, and ability; social psychology; culture and emotions; social theory; empathy and consciousness; ethnographic methods
Elif Kale-Lostuvali elifkale@berkeley.edu
Fri 10:30-12:30pm
sociology of science, knowledge and technology; comparative-historical sociology; social theory; universities; energy, environment and sustainability
Mary E Kelsey
Continuing Lecturer
mkelsey@berkeley.edu
Tues 10:00-12:00pm
Poverty and welfare policies, race, family, qualitative research methods
Leora E. Lawton
Lecturer
510 643-1270
llawton@berkeley.edu
Thurs 3:00-4:00pm
Sociology of the family, parent-child relations and divorce, aging, demography, migration, sociological practice, survey research methodology, the high-tech industry and the internet, deviance, drug wars and mass incarceration.
Edwin Lin edklin@gmail.com
Tues 8:00-10:00am, Wed 4:00-5:00pm
culture, economic development, South Africa, immigration
Laura Nathan
Lecturer
lauranathan@berkeley.edu
Tuesday 10-11am, Thursday 1-2pm
Shira Offer
Visiting Professor
shirao@law.berkeley.edu personal networks, work and family, gender relations, social inequality and poverty
Tiffany L. Page
Lecturer
paget@berkeley.edu
Fri 11:00-1:00pm and by appointment at Free Speech Movement Cafe
Brian Powers
Continuing Lecturer
brpowers@berkeley.edu
Mon/ Wed 1:00-2:30pm or by appointment
education, stratification, organizations, political sociology, and social psychology
Joanna Reed
Lecturer
(510) 643-2803
joannareed@berkeley.edu
Tues 10:00-12:00pm
families, inequality, social policy, gender, neighborhoods, work, qualitative methods