Lecturers

Name Contact Information Special Interests
Jill A. Bakehorn
Lecturer
jabakehorn@berkeley.edu Gender, Sexuality, Fringe Cultures, Sex Work, Food
Andrew Barlow
Continuing Lecturer
510-642-4289
barlow@berkeley.edu
Sociology of race and ethnicity, economic sociology, sociology of law
Sylvia Flatt sjflatt2012@gmail.com
Christoph Hermann
Lecturer
hermann@berkeley.edu Economic and political sociology, sociology of work, commodification, european integration
Linus Huang
Continuing Lecturer
lbhuang@berkeley.edu Organizations, work, sports, technology & society
Szonja Ivester
Lecturer
szonja@berkeley.edu social inequality, class analysis, gender, political elites, globalization, socialist societies
John W Kaiser j_kaiser@berkeley.edu carework and healthcare delivery; medical sociology; mechanisms of inequality; feminist theory; race, class, gender, and ability; social psychology; culture and emotions; social theory; empathy and consciousness; ethnographic methods
Elif Kale-Lostuvali elifkale@berkeley.edu sociology of science, knowledge and technology; comparative-historical sociology; social theory; universities; energy, environment and sustainability
Mary E Kelsey
Continuing Lecturer
mkelsey@berkeley.edu Poverty and welfare policies, race, family, qualitative research methods
Leora E. Lawton
Lecturer
510 643-1270
llawton@berkeley.edu
Sociology of the family, parent-child relations and divorce, aging, demography, migration, sociological practice, survey research methodology, the high-tech industry and the internet, deviance, drug wars and mass incarceration.
Edwin Lin edklin@gmail.com culture, economic development, South Africa, immigration
Laura Nathan
Lecturer
lauranathan@berkeley.edu
Shira Offer
Visiting Professor
shirao@law.berkeley.edu personal networks, work and family, gender relations, social inequality and poverty
Tiffany L. Page
Lecturer
paget@berkeley.edu
Brian Powers
Continuing Lecturer
brpowers@berkeley.edu education, stratification, organizations, political sociology, and social psychology
Joanna Reed
Continuing Lecturer
(510) 643-2803
joannareed@berkeley.edu
families, inequality, social policy, gender, neighborhoods, work, qualitative methods