Sociology Graduate Students

Name Email Special Interests
Edwin Ackerman edwin_ackerman@berkeley.edu political sociology; political parties; post-revolutionary state formation; comparative-historical sociology; social theory; Latin America
Nicholas B. Adams nickbadams@berkeley.edu security, policing, social movements, social psychology, mixed-methods
Zawadi Rucks Ahidiana zra-soc@berkeley.edu urban sociology, spatial stratification, race/ethnicity
Abigail Andrews abigailandrews@berkeley.edu Development, Migration, Gender, Political Sociology, Latinos/Latin America, Theory
Ghaleb Attrache ghaleb@berkeley.edu Political sociology, social movements, culture, Middle East and North Africa
Alex V Barnard avbarnard@berkeley.edu Political Sociology, Social Movements, Mental Health
Lindsay Bayham lindsay.bayham@berkeley.edu social networks, immigration, political sociology, development
Laleh Behbehanian lalehb@berkeley.edu counter-terrorism, militarization, policing, the state
Lauren S. Beresford lberesfo@hotmail.com inequality in the workplace, social stratification, education, class
Lindsay Berkowitz lberkowitz@berkeley.edu culture + cognition; urban sociology; social movements
Andrei Boutyline boutyline@berkeley.edu social networks, social psychology, culture & cognition, quantitative methods, mathematical sociology,
Dariush Bozorgmehri dariush_bozorgmehri@berkeley.edu Sociology of Development, Economic Sociology, Globalization, Organizations
CARMEN MARIE BRICK something@somethign.something
Nora C. Broege nbroege@berkeley.edu education, quantitative methods, race & ethnicity, social psychology
Jonah Stuart Brundage jstuartbrundage@berkeley.edu comparative historical sociology
Daniel Buch dbuch@berkeley.edu Experts and expertise, regulatory agencies, political economy, development, Latin American states, comparative methods
Carlos Felipe Bustamante carlos@berkeley.edu Comparative Penality, Urban Poverty, Entertainment in Disadvantaged Neighborhoods
Ryan M. Calder rcalder@berkeley.edu economic sociology, political sociology, political economy, Middle East, Southeast Asia, globalization, finance, Islamic banking, Islamic jurisprudence
Dani Carrillo dani.carrillo@berkeley.edu Race/Ethnicity, Immigration, France
Mario Castillo mdcastillo@berkeley.edu
Andy Scott Chang andy.chang@berkeley.edu Development & Globalization, Labor, Political Sociology, Social Theory, Social Movements, Transitions to Democracy, Southeast Asia, Taiwan, Indonesia, Philippines
Esther Yoona Cho esther.cho@berkeley.edu immigration, race/ethnicity, family, social stratification
Jennifer M. Choo jchoo@berkeley.edu political sociology, Chinese studies, law, economic sociology, property rights, housing/urban development
Julia Chuang jchuang@berkeley.edu
Pil Hong Chung pchung@demog.berkeley.edu population aging, life course, health inequality
Naniette H. Coleman nhcoleman@berkeley.edu
Siri J. Colom scolom@berkeley.edu Urban sociology, race, inequality, environment, ethnographic methods
Rafael Colonna rafael@berkeley.edu Gender, Sexuality, Families, Stigma, LGBT Studies, Qualitative Methods, Social Theory, Health, Medicine and Illness
Jessica F. Compton jfcompton@berkeley.edu
Felipe A. Dias felipedias@berkeley.edu Labor Market Outcomes, Race and Ethnicity, Gender, Quantitative Methods
Cyrus Dioun dioun@berkeley.edu Markets, Economic Sociology, Social Movements, Organizational Sociology, Institutions, Marijuana, Bitcoin, and Hackerspaces.
Peter Dixon pdixon@berkeley.edu political sociology, economic sociology, organizational theory, international law and transitional justice, Africa
Herbert Docena herbertdocena@berkeley.edu climate change, international politics, Phillipines
Charlie Eaton charlie.eaton@berkeley.edu Political Sociology, Economic Sociology, Inequality, Healthcare, Education, Welfare States, Labor
Martin Eiermann eiermann@berkeley.edu social movements, political sociology, cultural sociology, social theory
Emine Fidan Elcioglu fidan@berkeley.edu political sociology, immigration politics, labor migration, nations and borders, globalization, social movements, culture, work and labor
Perrin Elkind perrin@berkeley.edu philanthropy, social movements, development, gender
Rebecca Elliott rfelliott@berkeley.edu environmental politics, economic sociology, globalization and development
Michel Estefan mestefan@berkeley.edu comparative and historical sociology, political sociology, economic sociology, Latin America with a special emphasis on Mexico
Alinaya Sybilla L. Fabros ayafabros@berkeley.edu Globalization, political economy, urban sociology, transnational labor, migration, outsourcing, social movements, South East Asia
Gregory Michael Fayard gmfayard@berkeley.edu China, medical sociology, social psychology, disasters, transportation
Jason Ferguson jlferg@berkeley.edu Gender and sexuality
Angela Fillingim afillingim@berkeley.edu Law and Society, Political Sociology, Human Rights, Latin America, Race, Immigration, Culture
Christopher Al-Omary Fiorello christopherfiorello@berkeley.edu Social Theory, Stratification, Immigration, Ethnography
Katy Fox-Hodess katyrose@berkeley.edu Labor, political economy
ISABEL GARCIA notknown@this.time
Trevor G. Gardner II trevorgg@gmail.com criminal theory, sociology of law, political sociology
Pablo Gaston gaston@berkeley.edu labor, political economy, social movements, finance
Ben Gebre-Medhin beniam@alum.dartmouth.org social movements, development, revolution
Kristin George kristin.george@berkeley.edu Culture and morality, networks, mathematical sociology, gender
Eric Romualdo Giannella giannella@berkeley.edu Economic sociology sociology of law
Thomas J. Gilbert GILBERT45701@GMAIL.COM culture and cognition, knowledge/ideas
Adam Goldstein goldstam@gmail.com economic sociology, finance, inequality/stratification, organizations, urban/communities, religion
Tara Marie Gonsalves taragonsalves@berkeley.edu
Teresa Gonzales tergonz@gmail.com Urban, Development, Organizations, Networks, Nonprofits
Gillian D Gualtieri gualtierig@berkeley.edu gender, culture, sociology of knowledge, sexual harassment
Jaren R. Haber jhaber@berkeley.edu Organizations, Education, Social Psychology (status, influence)
Jacob Habinek habinek@berkeley.edu organizations, culture, science and technology, historical methods, and quantitative methods including network analysis
Orestes 'Pat' Hastings ophastings@berkeley.edu inequality, culture, religion, organizations, quantitative methods
Peter S. Hepburn pshepburn@demog.berkeley.edu sociology of culture; stratification; poverty and urban sociology; demography
Elise Herrala eherrala@berkeley.edu class formation, culture, art, consumption, postsocialism, Russia, gender
Christopher Herring christoph.herring@berkeley.edu Urbanization, Poverty, Penality, Welfare States, Social Theory, Political Economy, Ethnography.
Gabriel Hetland ghetland@berkeley.edu political sociology, social movements, democracy, Latin America
Joy L. Hightower jhightow@berkeley.edu the black middle-class, marriage, culture, qualitative research methods
Graham W. Hill grahamhill@berkeley.edu sociology of religion, social theory, political sociology
Casey P. Homan caseyhoman@berkeley.edu Religion, organizations, quantitative methods, immigration
Katherine Hood khood@berkeley.edu economic sociology, culture, knowledge, morality, historical sociology
Trevor G. Gardner II trevorgg@gmail.com criminal theory, sociology of law, political sociology
Shannon Ikebe shannon.ikebe@berkeley.edu political sociology, labor, comparative-historical, Marxist theory, gender, Europe
VĂ©ronique Irwin virwin@berkeley.edu Social Inequality, Urban Poverty, Public Education
Andrew Jaeger ajaeger@berkeley.edu Political sociology, political economy, environmental sociology, theory
Xuan Jin xjin@berkeley.edu
Tanya Jones tanyawws@gmail.com development, social movements, AIDS/Africa
John W Kaiser j_kaiser@berkeley.edu patient care delivery, health care, health and well-being, social psychology, gender, culture, theories of human freedom
Elif Kale-Lostuvali elifkale@berkeley.edu science and technology studies, knowledge, education, environment, comparative-historical sociology, social theory
Sunmin Kim sunmin@berkeley.edu Immigration, race, culture, knowledge and expertise, minority politics, methodology
Daniel N. Kluttz dkluttz@berkeley.edu Law, Political Economy, Culture, Organizations, Theory
Carter M. Koppelman carter.koppelman@berkeley.edu Latin America, urban sociology, gender, development, political sociology
Malgorzata Kurjanska kurjanska@berkeley.edu political sociology, development, historical sociology, culture, nationalism and ethnic conflict
Joe LaBriola joelabriola@berkeley.edu
James G. Lamb jlamb584@berkeley.edu political economy, Latin America, development, historical sociology
Steven W. Lauterwasser swlauterwasser@berkeley.edu Social Movements, Cultural Sociology, Historical Sociology, Social Theory
Keun Bok Lee keunboklee@berkeley.edu Social networks and Health, Social stratification and Class, Culture
Seth Leibson sleibson@berkeley.edu Social Movements, Labor, Immigration, Organizations
Zachary Levenson Zachary.Levenson@gmail.com urban sociology, social theory, comparative historical sociology, surplus populations, political economy of housing, political sociology, evictions, informality, Southern Africa, Southeast Asia
Matty Lichtenstein mlicht@berkeley.edu Religion, politics, law, gender
Edwin Lin edklin@gmail.com culture, economic development, South Africa, immigration
Roi Livne rlivne@berkeley.edu Economic sociology, medical sociology, organizations, sociology of intellectuals, theory, political economy, morality
ALLISON LYNN LOGAN not@known.none
Yang Lor yanglor@gmail.com Education, Poverty, Social Policy, Race/Ethnicity, Southeast Asian Americans
Sigrid Willa Luhr sigridluhr@berkeley.edu Family, Social Stratification, Inequality, Race/Ethnicity
Louise Ly louisely@berkeley.edu Race/ethnicity, gender, family, aging, qualitative methods
Helena C. Lyson hlyson@berkeley.edu food, agriculture, inequality, poverty, health, social movements
Sarah Macdonald sarahmac@berkeley.edu economic sociology, sociology of culture, race/ethnicity, organizations, transnational adoption, family, media
Margo M Mahan margo_mahan@berkeley.com Race, Social Stigma, Gender (Masculinity), Incarceration, Sexuality, Domestic Violence
Katherine E. Maich kmaich@berkeley.edu gender, labor, social movements, political economy of domestic work, social theory, Latin America
Shelly Malhotra shellymalhotra@yahoo.com NGOs, global health
Laura M. Mangels mangels@berkeley.edu stratification, criminal justice system, race, Latin America
Elizabeth McKenna emckenna@berkeley.edu Political sociology, social movements, Brazil
NALLELY MEJIA unknown@nonegiven.not
Nathalie Quynh Nhu Miller nathaliemiller@berkeley.edu law, development, globalization, organizations, Vietnam
Sarah Anne Minkin saminkin@berkeley.edu collective identity, ethno-nationalism, gender, militarization, social change
Santiago J. Molina santiagojmolina@gmail.com STS, Knowledge, Race/Ethnicity, Biomedicine, Bioethics, Latin America
Patricia Keer Munro pkmunro@berkeley.edu religion, culture, gender, family
Laura K. Nelson lknelson3@berkeley.edu comparative historical sociology, political sociology, gender, collective political action
Kristen Novella Nelson kristen.n.nelson@berkeley.edu West Africa, gender, race
Elizabeth Pearson bethpearson@berkeley.edu Fiscal sociology, social policy, economic sociology
Thomas Peng tfpeng@berkeley.edu Labor, Work and Occupation, Development, Economic Sociology, China
Megan Peppel peppel@berkeley.edu economic sociology, finance, knowledge, inequality, political sociology, Latin America
Tom Victor Pessah tompessah@berkeley.edu political sociology, race & ethnicity
Ms. Michelle Elizabeth Phillips m.phillips@berkeley.edu
Robert Pickett rpickett@berkeley.edu Quantitative Methodology, Social Psychology, Complexity Theory
Aaron Platt aaron@berkeley.edu culture, careers, marriage, life course
Liana Prescott lkprescott@berkeley.edu Morality, Politics, Social Psychology, Culture
Mark Matthew Quinn mark.quinn@berkeley.edu
Ogi Radic ogi.radic@berkeley.edu
Jace Kolbe Ricafrente jace@berkeley.edu race and ethnicity
Alexander F. Roehrkasse roehrkasse@berkeley.edu Economic sociology, theory, culture, history, knowledge, philosophy of science
Manuel Rosaldo mrosaldo@berkeley.edu social movements, economic development, informal workers, Latin America
Michele Rossi mlrossi@berkeley.edu political sociology, theory, class cultures, gender, morality, inequalities and social mobility
Matthew Rowe mrowe@berkeley.edu culture, economic sociology, gender and sexuality, medical sociology, qualitative methods, pragmatism and social theory
Maria-Fatima Santos fsantos@berkeley.edu
Heidy Sarabia hsarabia@berkeley.edu Globalization, migration flows, transnationalism, and border-crossings practices
Jessica Schirmer jess.schirmer@berkeley.edu urban sociology, local politics, fiscal crisis, social policy
Jen Schradie schradie@berkeley.edu Social Class, Social Media and Social Movements in the areas of Social Stratification and Inequality, Communication and Information Technologies, Labor and Social Movements
Michael Schultz michael.schultz@berkeley.edu social networks, quantitative methods, mathematical sociology
Jason Eton Scott jason.scott@berkeley.edu sociology of education
Caleb R. Scoville scoville@berkeley.edu environmental sociology, economic sociology, political sociology, political ecology, knowledge, culture, morality, theory, philosophy of technology
Dmitri S. Seals dseals@berkeley.edu race, culture, political sociology, class, democratic theory
Hans Jacob Seiloe jacob_seilo@berkeley.edu Political sociology, wealth distribution
Josh Seim joshseim@berkeley.edu urban; health/illness; poverty; prisoner release; trauma & medical emergency
Benjamin J. Shestakofsky bshestakofsky@berkeley.edu sociology of work; economic sociology; markets; brokerage; organizational culture
MARY SHI mary.shi@berkeley.edu
Shoonchul Shin shinshoonchul@berkeley.edu organizations
David Showalter davidshowalter@berkeley.edu drugs, sex, law, politics, "low culture," rural life
Fabiana Silva fabiana.silva@gmail.com Immigration, ethnography, organizations, race
Michaela Simmons mcsimmons@berkeley.edu Gender, incarceration, class, feminist theory
Shadrick Small sasmall@berkeley.edu race & gender, culture, sociology of music
Jonathan Matthew Smucker jsmucker@berkeley.edu political sociology, political strategy, social movements, culture, class, identity, hegemony
Shelly Steward steward@berkeley.edu everyday life, inequality, economic sociology, elites, tourism, ethnography, teaching
Matthew J. Stimpson mstimp@berkeley.edu culture, quantitative methods
Adam Storer adamstorer@berkeley.edu Sociology of Work, Economic Sociology, Social Networks, Quantitative Methods
Tamera Lee Stover tamera@berkeley.edu globalization, political economy, development, racial and ethnic identity, micro-sociology, theory, methods
Phung N. Su pnsu@berkeley.edu Gender, globalization, social movements, Southeast Asia
Alisa Szatrowski aszatrowski@berkeley.edu poverty, race & ethnic relations
Trinh Tran ttran1@berkeley.edu urban sociology, education, immigration, violence, poverty
Fithawee G. Tzeggai fithawee@gmail.com race & ethnic relations, urban sociology, stratification
Paula Uniacke uniacke@berkeley.edu gender, development, social change
ANARGHYA VARDHANA later@maybe.sometime
Gowri Vijayakumar gowri.vijayakumar@gmail.com gender, development, globalization, feminist theory
Byron Villacis byronvillacis@berkeley.edu Social Mobility, Development, Inequality, Migration, Public Statistics, Political Sociology.
Ana Villarreal avillarreal@berkeley.edu Urban sociology, drug violence, emotions (fear and trust), crime, work, ethnographic methods, Mexico
William Welsh wwelsh@berkeley.edu China, penality, political sociology, democracy, education, historical sociology
Jeffrey Weng jeffrey.weng@berkeley.edu Sociolinguistics, nationalism, language standardization, China
Rachel Wetts rachel.wetts@berkeley.edu social psychology
Ugur Yildirim ugur.yildirim@berkeley.edu political sociology, social movements, religion, deviance, organizations
Kara Alexis Young karayoung@berkeley.edu The global food system, health & inequality, gender, race, post-colonial and transnational feminist theory, in-depth interviewing & ethnography
Siyu Yu syyu@berkeley.edu
CSV