Sociology Graduate Students

Name Email Research Interests
Zawadi Rucks Ahidiana zra-soc@berkeley.edu urban sociology, race/ethnicity, cultural sociology, inequality
Ghaleb Attrache ghaleb@berkeley.edu Political sociology, revolutions, religion, Middle East and North Africa
Alex V Barnard avbarnard@berkeley.edu Political Sociology, Social Policy, Mental Health, Comparative Sociology
Lindsay Bayham lindsay.bayham@berkeley.edu social networks, culture, communication, social & economic development, social theory, Africa
Lindsay Berkowitz lberkowitz@berkeley.edu medical sociology & gender; current project topics: women's health, chronic illness, integrative medicine, healthcare policy
Boroka Bo borokabo@berkeley.edu stratification, gender, health, migration, demography
Andrei Boutyline boutyline@berkeley.edu social networks, social psychology, culture & cognition, quantitative methods, mathematical sociology,
Carmen Brick carmenbrick@berkeley.edu political sociology, spatial stratification, social policy
Nora C. Broege nbroege@berkeley.edu education, quantitative methods, race & ethnicity, social psychology
Jonah Stuart Brundage jstuartbrundage@berkeley.edu comparative historical sociology
Kimberly Burke kcburke@berkeley.edu Gender, Sexuality, Policing, State Violence, Inequality, Criminal Justice, Feminist Theory
Carlos Felipe Bustamante carlos@berkeley.edu Crime and Punishment, Policing, Comparative Penality, Race and Ethnicity, Inequality, Urban Sociology, Qualitative Methods
Jesus Camacho jmcamach@berkeley.edu
Dani Carrillo dani.carrillo@berkeley.edu Immigration, Race/Ethnicity, Social Welfare, Urban Sociology
Merzela Casimir merzela.casimir@berkeley.edu
Mario Castillo mdcastillo@berkeley.edu
Andy Scott Chang andy.chang@berkeley.edu Development & Globalization, Political Sociology, Social Theory, Social Movements, Transitions to Democracy, Southeast Asia, Taiwan, Indonesia, Philippines
Esther Yoona Cho esther.cho@berkeley.edu immigration, illegality, race/ethnicity, family, education
Joshua Choper jbchoper@berkeley.edu Labor Markets, Work, Social Stratification and Inequality, Economic Sociology, Quantitative Methods
Pil H. Chung pchung@demog.berkeley.edu family, demography, life course and race
Naniette H. Coleman nhcoleman@berkeley.edu Organizations, Work, Culture, Political Sociology
Jessica F. Compton jfcompton@berkeley.edu stratification, economic sociology, race, gender, work, mixed methods
Isaac Dalke isaacdalke@gmail.com bureaucratic decision-making, crime and punishment, the welfare state, gender and sexuality
Felipe Dias fdias@stanford.edu Race and Ethnicity, Field Experiments, Labor Markets, Stratification and Inequality, Gender, Intersectionality, Racial Segregation, Criminology, and Quantitative Methods.
Cyrus Dioun dioun@berkeley.edu Organizational Theory, Economic Sociology, Computational Methods, Organizational Stigma, Law and Society, Social Movements
Herbert Docena herbertdocena@berkeley.edu climate change, international politics, Phillipines
Margaret Eby margaret_eby@berkeley.edu Social History, Social Movements
Martin Eiermann eiermann@berkeley.edu social movements, political sociology, cultural sociology, social theory
Michel Estefan mestefan@berkeley.edu comparative and historical sociology, political sociology, economic sociology, Latin America with a special emphasis on Mexico
Alinaya Sybilla L. Fabros ayafabros@berkeley.edu Globalization, political economy, urban sociology, transnational labor, offshore services, migration, outsourcing, social movements, South East Asia
Akilah Favors afavors93@berkeley.edu Ethnicity and Race, Social Movements
Gregory Michael Fayard gmfayard@berkeley.edu China, medical sociology, social psychology, disasters, transportation
Jason L. Ferguson jlferg@berkeley.edu Sociology of law
Angela Fillingim a.fillingim@uci.edu Race; Law and Society; Political Sociology; Human Rights; Latin America
Katy Fox-Hodess katyrose@berkeley.edu Labor, globalization, political economy, political sociology
Isabel García isabel.garcia@berkeley.edu Immigration, Family, Law & Society, Race & Ethnicity, Education
Pablo Gaston pablo.gaston@gmail.com Sociology of work and labor; economic sociology; social movements; social theory; comparative/historical methods; healthcare, care work, and the caring professions
Ben Gebre-Medhin beniam@berkeley.edu organizations, higher education, technology
Kristin George kristin.george@berkeley.edu Movements for religious reform, slavery and religion in Antebellum America, Islam in the Contermporary US, culture and morality, historical sociology, gender
Diego Gomez-Aristizabal gomez-aristizabal@berkeley.edu Urban and Political Sociology, Bicycle Urbanism, Political Violence, Colonialism in the Caribbean, Latin American Development, Comparative Ethnography, Critical Social Theory
Tara Marie Gonsalves taragonsalves@berkeley.edu gender and sexuality, political economy, globalization, development, transnational sociology, social movements
Jeffrey M Gordon jeffgordon@berkeley.edu organizations, science and technology, law, historical methods, computational methods
Matthew Grumbach matthew_grumbach@berkeley.edu Historical Sociology, Social Movements, Theory
Gillian D Gualtieri gualtierig@berkeley.edu culture, race and ethnicity, gender, organizations, food
Jaren R. Haber jhaber@berkeley.edu Organizations, Education, Social Psychology, Computational Text Analysis
Jacob Habinek habinek@berkeley.edu economic sociology, organizational theory, quantitative methods, social networks, sociology of knowledge, social theory.
Orestes Pat Hastings ophastings@berkeley.edu Stratification & Inequality, Economic Sociology, Social Psychology, Social Demography, Religion & Spirituality, Social Change, Quantitative and Experimental Methods
Peter Hepburn pshepburn@demog.berkeley.edu occupations and work; family; stratification; mass incarceration; poverty and urban sociology; demography
Chris Herring christoph.herring@berkeley.edu Urbanization, Poverty, Penality, Welfare States, Social Theory, Political Economy, Ethnography.
Joy L. Hightower jhightow@berkeley.edu black middle-class, marriage & family, intimacy, qualitative research methods
Casey P. Homan caseyhoman@berkeley.edu Religion, organizations, quantitative methods, immigration
Katherine Hood khood@berkeley.edu poverty and inequality, punishment, criminal courts, law, expertise, economic sociology, culture
Shannon Ikebe shannon.ikebe@berkeley.edu political sociology, political economy, labor, comparative-historical
Véronique Irwin virwin@berkeley.edu Education, Stratification
Andrew Jaeger ajaeger@berkeley.edu Political sociology, economic cociology, environment, theory
Xuan Jin xjin@berkeley.edu Political and social theory, sociology, politics, history, philosophy
Tanya Clark Jones jonestc@berkeley.edu Institutional Change, Governance, Development, Medical Sociology
Samuel Kieke samuel.kieke@berkeley.edu Political Sociology, Middle East and North Africa, Immigration, Comparative Historical Sociology
Sunmin Kim sunmin@berkeley.edu Race, ethnicity, and immigration, culture, knowledge and expertise, minority politics, survey research, comparative-historical sociology
Daniel N. Kluttz dkluttz@berkeley.edu Law and Society, Economic Sociology, Culture, Organizations, Environment, Theory
Carter M. Koppelman carter.koppelman@berkeley.edu Development, Urban Sociology, Political Sociology, Gender, Social Movements, Latin America
Michael Unger Kowen mkowen@berkeley.edu sociology of knowledge, social theory, science and technology studies, political sociology, China
Kirstin Krusell kirstin_krusell@berkeley.edu Labor, Technology, Globalization, Development
Joe LaBriola joelabriola@berkeley.edu culture, social stratification, economic sociology, work, political sociology
James G. Lamb jlamb584@berkeley.edu political economy, Latin America, development, historical sociology
Steven W. Lauterwasser swlauterwasser@berkeley.edu Social Movements, Cultural Sociology, Historical Sociology, Social Theory
Keun Bok Lee keunboklee@berkeley.edu Social networks and Health, Social stratification and Class, Culture
Tyler Leeds tyler_leeds@berkeley.edu Rural & Urban Sociology, Gender, Political Sociology, Higher Education
Seth Leibson sleibson@berkeley.edu Social Movements, Labor, Immigration, Organizations
Jaqueline Lepe jlepe@berkeley.edu
Zachary Levenson zachary.levenson@gmail.com urban sociology, political sociology, ethnography, race and ethnicity, social theory, sociology of development
Matty Lichtenstein mlicht@berkeley.edu Social policy, political sociology, gender and family, religion, mixed methods, state theory, organizational theory
Allison Logan allisonlogan@berkeley.edu Poverty and Inequality, Urban Sociology, Culture, Family, Education
Yang Lor yanglor@berkeley.edu Education, Poverty, Culture, Social Stratification, Race/Ethnicity, Asian Americans
Sigrid Willa Luhr sigridluhr@berkeley.edu Social Stratification, Inequality, Family, Gender, Work
Louise Ly louisely@berkeley.edu Race, ethnicity, immigration, family, gender, aging
Helena Lyson hlyson@berkeley.edu
Margo M Mahan margo_mahan@berkeley.edu Race, Social Stigma, Gender (Masculinity), Incarceration, Sexuality, Domestic Violence
Katherine Eva Maich kmaich@berkeley.edu Law; Labor & Work; Gender; Informality; Ethnography; Latin America
Shelly Malhotra shellymalhotra@yahoo.com NGOs, global health
Laura M. Mangels mangels@berkeley.edu stratification, criminal justice system, race, Latin America
Antonia Mardones Marshall mardones_antonia@berkeley.edu International migration, race and ethnicity, national identities, Latin America.
Elizabeth McKenna emckenna@berkeley.edu Political sociology, social movements, Brazil
Nallely Mejia nmejia@berkeley.edu Immigration, Health, Inequality, Mexico
Michael Menefee menefeem@berkeley.edu Sociology of Punishment, Crime, Inequality, Race and Ethnicity, Quantitative Methods.
Santiago J. Molina santiagojmolina@berkeley.edu Science, Knowledge, Race/Ethnicity, Biomedicine, Bioethics, Latin America
Meghna Mukherjee meghna_mukherjee@berkeley.edu Gender, Stratification and Class
Kristen Novella Nelson kristen.n.nelson@berkeley.edu Racial attitudes, social psychology, gender, development
Joohyun Park jp53@berkeley.edu Political Sociology, Social Movement, Culture
Sarah Payne spayne@berkeley.edu
Thomas Peng tfpeng@berkeley.edu Labor, Work and Occupation, Development, Economic Sociology, China
Megan Peppel peppel@berkeley.edu economic sociology, finance, knowledge, inequality, political sociology, Latin America
Michelle Elizabeth Phillips m.phillips@berkeley.edu Political Sociology; human rights; Immigration; Economic Sociology; Gender; Inequality and Poverty
Robert Pickett rpickett@berkeley.edu Quantitative Methodology, Race, Cultural Sociology
Aaron Platt aaron@berkeley.edu culture, careers, marriage, life course
Liana Prescott lkprescott@berkeley.edu Morality, Politics, Social Psychology, Culture
Mark Matthew Quinn mark.quinn@berkeley.edu Hong Kong, Political Sociology, Social Movements, China
Ogi Radic ogi.radic@berkeley.edu
Adriana Ramirez apramirez@berkeley.edu Immigration, Citizenship, Ethnicity and Race, Identity, Latin America
Jace Kolbe Ricafrente jace@berkeley.edu race and ethnicity
Alexander Roehrkasse roehrkasse@berkeley.edu Economic, political, comparative–historical, family, theory, methodology
Manuel Rosaldo mrosaldo@berkeley.edu social movements, economic development, informal workers, Latin America
Michele Rossi mlrossi@berkeley.edu political sociology, theory, class cultures, gender, morality, inequalities and social mobility
Matthew S. Rowe mrowe@berkeley.edu Culture; the creative economy; work and occupations; self and identity; organizations and institutions; higher education; sexuality; health.
Michaeljit Sandhu Sandhu.michaeljit@berkeley.edu
Maria-Fatima Santos fsantos@berkeley.edu
Jessica Schirmer jess.schirmer@berkeley.edu urban sociology, political sociology, welfare state, housing
Krista Schnell kkschnell@berkeley.edu gender, science and technology, sociology of sport, organizations
Kirsten Schowalter kirsten_schowalter@berkeley.edu Population change and organizations, culture, and social networks
Jason Eton Scott jason.scott@berkeley.edu sociology of education
Caleb Scoville scoville@berkeley.edu environmental politics, knowledge, STS, morality, economic sociology, political sociology, culture, theory
Hans Jacob Seiloe jacob_seilo@berkeley.edu Political sociology, wealth distribution
Josh Seim joshseim@berkeley.edu poverty governance, medicine, punishment, labor, urban
Alicia Sheares amsheares@berkeley.edu
Benjamin Shestakofsky bshestakofsky@berkeley.edu Sociology of work; technology and society; economic sociology; qualitative research methods; organizational culture; digital geographies
Mary Shi mary.shi@berkeley.edu Political Sociology, Economic Sociology, Nationalism, STS, Philosophy of the Social Sciences
David Showalter davidshowalter@berkeley.edu drugs, law, punishment, health, politics, "low culture"
Fabiana Silva fabiana.silva@berkeley.edu Inequality and Stratification, Labor Market Stratification, Economic Sociology, Race and Ethnicity, Immigration, Social Networks, Social Psychology, Experimental Methods, Quantitative Methods
Michaela Simmons mcsimmons@berkeley.edu Gender, incarceration, class, feminist theory
Shadrick Small sasmall@berkeley.edu race & gender, culture, sociology of music
Miranda Smith msmith13@berkeley.edu
Jonathan Matthew Smucker jsmucker@berkeley.edu political sociology, political strategy, social movements, culture, class, identity, hegemony
Kiran Stallone kiran_stallone@berkeley.edu Gender, Political Sociology
Shelly Steward steward@berkeley.edu Work, culture, economic sociology, risk and insecurity, moral understandings, symbolic boundaries
Matthew J. Stimpson mstimp@berkeley.edu culture, stratification, economic sociology, quantitative methods
Adam Storer adamstorer@berkeley.edu Sociology of Work, Economic Sociology, Social Networks, Quantitative Methods
Garrett Strain garretts@berkeley.edu Labor, Financialization, Political Sociology
Phung N. Su pnsu@berkeley.edu Gender, globalization, social movements, Southeast Asia
Alisa Szatrowski aszatrowski@berkeley.edu poverty, race & ethnic relations
Luis Tenorio luistenorio94@gmail.com Immigration and Migration; Children and Youth; Political Sociology
Trinel Torian ttorian@berkeley.edu
Thomas Trieu thomas.trieu@berkeley.edu globalization, economic inequality, Southeast Asia, urban education
Fithawee G. Tzeggai fithawee@gmail.com race & ethnic relations, urban sociology, stratification
Paula Uniacke uniacke@berkeley.edu gender, development, social change, gender-based violence, global campaigns, transnational feminism, NGOs, India, South Asia, water, sanitation
Byron Villacis byronvillacis@berkeley.edu Social Mobility, Development, Inequality, Migration, Public Statistics, Political Sociology.
Skyler Wang skyler.wang@berkeley.edu Economic Sociology, Sexualities, Culture, Medical Sociology, Social Policy
William James Welsh wwelsh@berkeley.edu China, penality, political sociology, education, historical sociology
Jeffrey Weng jeffrey.weng@berkeley.edu Political sociology, nationalism, comparative historical sociology, sociology of language, social theory, China
Rachel Wetts rachel.wetts@berkeley.edu social psychology
Paula Winicki pwinicki@berkeley.edu Political Sociology, Social Movements, Labor, Latin America
Allen Micheal Wright allenmicheal@berkeley.edu Working Class, Race, Culture, Inequality
Ugur Yildirim ugur.yildirim@berkeley.edu social networks, stratification, quantitative and mixed methods