Emeritus Faculty

Name Contact Information Special Interests
Bob Blauner
Professor Emeritus
510-527-8650
kebb@berkeley.edu
Race relations, gender and men's experience, interviewing and oral history, age phenomena
Victoria Bonnell
Professor Emeritus
510-642-2784
vbonnell@berkeley.edu
Historical Sociology, Soviet/Russian and East European Society and Culture Sociology of Everyday Life, Comparative and Historical Methods, Social Change
Manuel Castells
Professor Emeritus
(213) 821-2079
castells@usc.edu
Sociology of information technology, urban sociology, sociology of social movements, comparative sociology (current emphases: Latin America, Europe)
Nancy J. Chodorow
Professor Emerita
617-354-1200
nancy_chodorow@hms.harvard.edu
Psychoanalytic theory and clinical methods, psychoanalysis, gender and sexuality, psychoanalytic sociology and anthropology, feminist theory and methods
Troy Duster
Chancellor's Professor
troy_duster@berkeley.edu Deviance, law, science, ethnicity
Harry Edwards
Professor Emeritus
drharryedwards@gmail.com Sociology of sport, family, race and ethnic relations
Peter Evans
Professor Emeritus
510 708-8655
pevans@berkeley.edu
By appointment
Globalization, Labor Movements, States, Development
Arlie R. Hochschild
Professor Emerita
ahochsch@berkeley.edu Family, market culture, global patterns of care work, social psychology especially the relationship between culture and emotion
Michael Hout
Natalie Cohen Professor of Sociology & Demography
mikehout@berkeley.edu Demography, Inequality, Religion, Social Change, & Statistics
Jerome B. Karabel
Professor Emeritus
karabel@socrates.berkeley.edu Sociology of education, politics, intellectuals
Kristin Luker
Professor Emeritus
(510) 642-4038
luker@socrates.berkeley.edu
Wed 11-1 & by appointment.
Gender, sexuality, women and welfare
David Matza
Professor Emeritus
dmatza@pacbell.net Deviant behavior, social change, poverty and working class life
Richard J. Ofshe
Professor Emeritus
rofshe@aol.com Coercive social control, social psychology, influence in police interrogation, influence leading to pseudo-memory in psychotherapy
Neil J Smelser
University Professor Emeritus
nsmelser@berkeley.edu Sociological theory, economic sociology, collective behavior, sociology of education, social change, comparative methods
Barrie Thorne
Professor Emerita
bthorne@berkeley.edu Gender, feminist theory, childhood, families, qualitative methods