Regular Faculty

Name Contact Information Special Interests
Irene Bloemraad
Associate Professor
510-642-4287
bloemr@berkeley.edu
Immigration, political sociology, race & ethnicity, social movements, nationalism, research methods, Canada
Victoria Bonnell
Professor
510-642-2784
vbonnell@berkeley.edu
Historical Sociology, Soviet/Russian and East European Society and Culture Sociology of Everyday Life, Comparative and Historical Methods, Social Change
Michael Burawoy
Professor
510-643-1958
burawoy@berkeley.edu
Labor, methodology, capitalism on earth
Laura J. Enriquez
Professor
510-642-2502
enriquez@berkeley.edu
Development in Latin America, rural sociology, political sociology, social movements
Claude S Fischer
Professor
510-642-4772; -4766 (mess.)
fischer1@berkeley.edu
Personal networks, social history, social psychology, urban, technology
Neil Fligstein
Professor
510-643-1957
fligst@berkeley.edu
Economic sociology, organizations, methodology and statistics, political sociology
Marion Fourcade
Professor
(510) 642-9855 (ISSI)
fourcade@berkeley.edu
Economic sociology, culture, political sociology, comparative methods, knowledge and science
Cybelle Fox
Assistant Professor
(510) 642-7601
cfox@berkeley.edu
Race and Ethnic Relations, American Welfare State, Immigration, Historical Sociology, and Political Sociology.
Thomas B. Gold
Professor
510-642-4760
tbgold@berkeley.edu
Modernization and development, globalization, comparative institutions, Pacific Rim societies, China, culture, non-profits focused on improving educational access and persistence for disadvantaged populations
Leo A. Goodman
Class of 1938 Professor
510-642-5988, 510-843-6013
lgoodman@berkeley.edu
Statistical methods of research, mathematical demography, mathematical sociology, social mobility
David J. Harding
Associate Professor
510-642-2707
dharding@berkeley.edu
poverty, inequality, causal inference, mixed methods, incarceration and prisoner reentry, education, neighborhood effects, urban communities, adolescence
Heather A. Haveman
Professor
510-642-3495
haveman@berkeley.edu
Organizational theory, economic sociology, historical sociology, entrepreneurship, organizational demography, gender, careers and social mobility
Jennifer Johnson-Hanks
Associate Professor
johnsonhanks@berkeley.edu Population, culture, family
Jerome B. Karabel
Professor
karabel@socrates.berkeley.edu Sociology of education, politics, intellectuals
John Lie
C.K. Cho Professor
johnlie@berkeley.edu Social theory, political economy, East Asia
Mara Loveman
Associate Professor
mloveman@berkeley.edu Comparative and historical sociology, political sociology, ethnoracial politics, development, demography, Latin America
Samuel R. Lucas
Professor
lucas@demog.berkeley.edu Social stratification, sociology of education, research methods, statistics
Kristin Luker
Professor
(510) 642-4038
luker@socrates.berkeley.edu
Gender, sexuality, women and welfare
G Cristina Mora
Assistant Professor
510-642-5877
cmora@berkeley.edu
Culture, Race and Ethnicity, Organizations, Immigration, Religion
Trond Petersen
Professor
(510)642-6423
trond@haas.berkeley.edu
Organizations, social stratification, inequality, economic sociology, comparative studies, quantitative methods
Raka Ray
Professor and Department Chair
rakaray@berkeley.edu Gender, inequality, emerging middle classes, South Asia, qualitative research methods, social movements
Dylan John Riley
Associate Professor
riley@berkeley.edu Political Sociology, Comparative Historical Sociology and Social Theory
Martin Sanchez-Jankowski
Professor
(510) 643-8779
sanjan@berkeley.edu
Sociology of poverty, race and ethnicity, social violence, methodology
Daniel Schneider
Assistant Professor
djschneider@berkeley.edu Social Demography, Inequality, Family, Wealth and Household Finance
Sandra Susan Smith
Associate Professor
510.642.4298
sandra_smith@berkeley.edu
Urban poverty and joblessness, job search, social capital and social networks, trust and cooperation, and culture and social structure
Ann Swidler
Professor
swidler@berkeley.edu Culture, religion, theory, institutionalization, African responses to HIV/AIDS
Cihan Ziya Tugal
Associate Professor
ctugal@berkeley.edu Political sociology, social movements, religion, Islam and the Middle East, culture, poverty and class, social theory, ethnography.
Kim Voss
Professor
510-642-4756
kimvoss@berkeley.edu
Labor, social movements, inequality, political sociology, historical sociology
Loic Wacquant
Professor
loic@berkeley.edu Incarnation, the penal state, "race" as a principle of social vision and division, comparative urban inequality and marginality, extreme social systems, politics of reason, classical and contemporary social theory.
Margaret M Weir
Professor
mweir@berkeley.edu Political sociology, welfare state, and urban politics