Graduate Students

Name Contact Information Special Interests
Alonzo Ackerman alonzoackerman@berkeley.edu
Timothy Ahn timahn7@berkeley.edu
Nadia Almasalkhi nadiaalmasalkhi@berkeley.edu political transnationalism, the Levant, immigration, political socialization, social movements
Elena Amaya elena_amaya@berkeley.edu Comparative-Historical Sociology, Political Sociology, Social Movements and Collective Behavior, Nationalism, Gender and the Law, Genocide Studies
Aja Antoine-Jones ajaantoine@berkeley.edu Health Disparities, Historical Sociology, Social Inequality, Social Theory
Diego Aristizabal daristi@berkeley.edu Urban and Political Sociology, Bicycle Urbanism, Political Violence, Colonialism in the Caribbean, Latin American Development, Comparative Ethnography, Critical Social Theory
Hero Ashman hero_ashman@berkeley.edu Gender, the family, economic inequality, political economy, quantitative methods
Ghaleb Attrache ghaleb@berkeley.edu Religion and spirituality, political sociology, revolutions, Middle East and North Africa
Audrey Augenbraum audrey.augenbraum@berkeley.edu Social movements, history of humanitarianism, immigration, religion
Jose Martin Av… jose_aveldanes@berkeley.edu Family, Quantitative & Computational Methods, Sexuality, Social Demography, Stratification and Inequality, Culture
Diego Ayala diegoca@berkeley.edu Comparative Historical Sociology, Political Economy, Political Sociology, Development, Agrarian Societies, Latin America, East Asia
John Bassney john_bassney@berkeley.edu
Naomi Ben-Porath naomi_ben-porath@berkeley.edu
Lindsay Berkowitz lberkowitz@berkeley.edu medical sociology & gender; current project topics: women's health, chronic illness, integrative medicine, healthcare policy
Carmen Brick carmenbrick@berkeley.edu political sociology, social policy, sociology of work, stratification
Allison Brooke allisonbrooke@berkeley.edu wearable activity tracking devices, work, health/healthcare/health insurance, ranking/rating/risk, knowledge and classification, culture, surveillance
Jacqueline Brown jacqueline_brown@berkeley.edu Higher education, stratification, organizations, socioeconomic mobility
Paula Winicki … pwinicki@berkeley.edu Political Sociology, Social Movements, Labor, Latin America
Kimberly Burke kcburke@berkeley.edu Social Hierarchies, Race, Organizational Behavior, Policing, Intersectionality
Jenae Carpenter jmcarpenter@berkeley.edu
Elizabeth Torr… etorresc@berkeley.edu
Dori-Taylor Go… dori-taylor@berkeley.edu identity classification, political representation, social movements, panethnicity, political demography
Merzela Casimir merzela.casimir@berkeley.edu
Joshua Choper jbchoper@berkeley.edu Labor Markets, Work, Social Stratification and Inequality, Economic Sociology, Quantitative Methods
Naniette H. Coleman nhcoleman@berkeley.edu Culture, Organizations, Science and Technology Studies, Law and Society, Qualitative & Quantitative Methods, Computational Social Science
Yagmur Ali Coskun notyet@soon.now
Isaac Dalke isaacdalke@berkeley.edu crime, punishment, and violence; bureaucracy; expertise; governance
Xavier Durham xavier_durham@berkeley.edu Political Sociology, Urban Sociology, Race and Inequality, Policing, Surveillance Technology, and Privatization
Margaret Eby margaret_eby@berkeley.edu medical sociology, comparative historical sociology, bioethics, pedagogy, labor
Alinaya Sybill… ayafabros@berkeley.edu Globalization, political economy, urban sociology, transnational labor, offshore services, migration, outsourcing, social movements, South East Asia
Akilah Favors afavors93@berkeley.edu Ethnicity and Race, Social Movements
Benjamin Fields benjaminfields@berkeley.edu Immigration, Demography, Globalization, Development
Peter Forberg peterforberg@berkeley.edu social movements, political sociology, organizational sociology, governance, new media and technology, ethnography
Annette Gailliot annette_gailliot@berkeley.edu Law & Society; Science & Technology; Stratification and Inequality; Social Demography; Quantitative & Computational Methods
Kristin George kristin.george@berkeley.edu
Thomas Gepts tgepts@berkeley.edu Labor; collective action; critical university studies; environmental sociology, politics & history
Justin Germain justin.germain@berkeley.edu Social Policy; Urban Sociology; Space and Gentrification; Inequality
Matthew Grumbach matthew_grumbach@berkeley.edu Comparative Historical Sociology, Political Sociology, Cultural Sociology, Theory, Visual Culture
Tiffany Hamidjaja tiffanyhamidjaja@berkeley.edu
Thomas Haseloff tshaseloff@berkeley.edu Economic Sociology, Political Economy, Science and Technology, Sociology of Finance, Financialization
Cathy Hu cathy_hu@berkeley.edu punishment, social movements, political sociology, law and society
Janna Z. Huang jannahuang@berkeley.edu Organizations, Climate Change, Science and Technology Studies, Economic Sociology
Irem Inal ireminal@berkeley.edu
Andrew Jaeger ajaeger@berkeley.edu Political sociology, economic sociology, environment, theory
Xuan Jin xjin@berkeley.edu
David Joseph-G… djosephgoteiner@berkeley.edu Economic Sociology, Technology, Organizations, Culture, Theory
Michael Unger Kowen mkowen@berkeley.edu sociology of knowledge, social theory, science and technology studies, political sociology, China
Kirstin Krusell kirstin_krusell@berkeley.edu science and technology studies, labor/work, political sociology
Jessica Law jessicalaw@berkeley.edu race/ethnicity, political sociology, knowledge
Min Jee Lee minjee_lee@berkeley.edu
Nikkolette Lee nikkolette_lee@berkeley.edu medical sociology, the body, medicalization and pathologization, fat studies, obesity, healthcare settings, social stigma
Tyler Leeds tyler_leeds@berkeley.edu Politics, Media, Racism, Theory, Digital Studies
Jaqueline Lepe jlepe@berkeley.edu Crime and Punishment, Race, Gender, Inequality
Danyang Li danyangli@berkeley.edu culture and social classification, institutions and organizations, science and technology, network science and computer linguistics
Max Lindquist max.lindquist@berkeley.edu Economic Sociology, Organizations, Sociology of Quantification
Daniel Lobo daniel_lobo@berkeley.edu Culture, Economic Sociology, Organizations, Social Mobility, Social Theory, Race & Ethnicity, Social Psychology, Computational Social Science, Survey & Field Experiments
Antonia Mardon… mardones_antonia@berkeley.edu International migration, race and ethnicity, national identities, state-building, ethnographic methods, Latin America.
Sarah Merchant sarah.merchant@berkeley.edu racial/imperial capitalism, spiritual ontology, mysticisms, secularization, Islam, post-colonial South Asia
Autumn Olivia … olivia.mitchell@berkeley.edu
Meghna Mukherjee meghna_mukherjee@berkeley.edu Gender, Medical Sociology, Fertility and Genetic Technologies, Reproduction, South Asia
Nataliya Nedzh… nataliyan@berkeley.edu economic sociology, organizations, science and technology studies
Dhurata Osmani dosmani@berkeley.edu
Anthony Palafox anthony.palafox@berkeley.edu Education, Expectations, Inequality
Anna Palmer annapalmer@berkeley.edu Sociology of Development; Caribbean; Climate Crisis; Qualitative and Spatial Methods; Political Sociology; Environmental Sociology
Joohyun Park jp53@berkeley.edu Gender, Law and Society, Medical Sociology, Social Movement
Vera Elena Parra vera_parra@berkeley.edu Labor, Political Economy, Social Movements, Migration, Social Theory
Natalie Pasquinelli natalie_pasquinelli@berkeley.edu
Reubén Pérez reubenp@berkeley.edu Crime Prevention, Community, Policing, Neighborhood Social Control, Urban Sociology
Khoi Quach k_quach@berkeley.edu penality and political economy with an emphasis on technology
Kelly Quinn kellyquinn@berkeley.edu Economic sociology, work, and labor markets
Adriana P. Ramírez apramirez@berkeley.edu Migration, Citizenship, Race & Ethnicity, Nationalism, Latin America
William Rathje wrathje@berkeley.edu STS and history of science, history of ideas, theory, digital culture, history of computing; computational methods, computational linguistics, machine learning, AI ethics
Angel Mendiola Ross a.ross@berkeley.edu (sub)urban sociology, race and inequality, housing, and policing
Emily Ruppel emily_ruppel@berkeley.edu Medical Sociology, Labor and Organizations, Gender, Culture, Knowledge
Paul Salamanca paul_s@berkeley.edu historical sociology, race/ethnicity, gender
Julio Fernando… juliofernandosalas@berkeley.edu Immigration, Immigrant Families, Emotion, Health, Race & Ethnicity, Social Stratification, and Mixed Methods
Meriam Salem salemmeriam858@berkeley.edu
Jasmine Sanders jmsanders@berkeley.edu organizations, culture, inequality, workplace practices & policies
Michaeljit Sandhu Sandhu.michaeljit@berkeley.edu
Maria-Fátima Santos fsantos@berkeley.edu social theory, political sociology, law/legal professionals, punishment and inequality, race and ethnicity, work, global/transnational sociology, Latin America
Lara Schiffrin-Sands lara.schiffrinsands@berkeley.edu
Jessica Schirmer jess.schirmer@berkeley.edu urban sociology, political sociology, welfare state, housing
Mary Shi mary.shi@berkeley.edu Political economy, historical sociology, the state, theory, society and space, urban sociology
Maria Smith mariasmith@berkeley.edu Data Surveillance & Privacy, Sociology of Law/Penality, Race, and Mixed Methods
Miranda Smith msmith13@berkeley.edu gender, sexuality, political sociology, theory, stratification
Jonathan Matth… jsmucker@berkeley.edu political sociology, collective behavior, social psychology, political strategy, social movements, class, populism
David Su davidsu@berkeley.edu Social Networks, Migration, Social Movements, Political Sociology, Economic Sociology
Eylem Taylan eylem_taylan@berkeley.edu Labor, Governmentality Studies, Comparative-Historical Sociology, Development, Social Theory
Luis Tenorio luistenorio@berkeley.edu International Migration; Latinx Sociology; Social Policy; Gender and Sexuality; Work; Law & Society
Leigh Welch leigh_welch@berkeley.edu
William Welsh wwelsh@berkeley.edu Historical development of labor markets in China, England, Japan and Scotland.
Allen Micheal Wright allenmicheal@berkeley.edu Urban Sociology, Sociology of Law, Economic Sociology
Yueran Zhang yueranzhang@berkeley.edu Comparative-historical sociology, political economy, state and class politics, (de)mobilizations, production and social reproduction, development, global and transnational, theory
Zhehang Zhang zhehang@berkeley.edu Political economy of development, political sociology, comparative historical sociology, social theory, culture and ideology, and social change in Global South and East Asia
Raquel X. Z. Rios raquelxzrios@berkeley.edu Policing, Punishment, Surveillance, Urban Sociology, Political Sociology, Social Policy