Graduate Students

Name Contact Information Special Interests
Alonzo Ackerman alonzoackerman@berkeley.edu
Timothy Ahn timahn7@berkeley.edu
Sally-Ann Akuetteh sallyann_a@berkeley.edu
Nadia Almasalkhi nadiaalmasalkhi@berkeley.edu forced migrations, xenophobia, the Levant, postcolonial theory, urban geography, transnationalism
Elena Amaya elena_amaya@berkeley.edu Comparative-Historical Sociology, Political Sociology, Antisemitism, Nationalism, Gender and the Law, Genocide Studies
Aja Antoine-Jones ajaantoine@berkeley.edu health disparities, historical sociology, spatial analytics, social theory
Diego Aristizabal daristi@berkeley.edu Urban and Political Sociology, Bicycle Urbanism, Political Violence, Colonialism in the Caribbean, Latin American Development, Comparative Ethnography, Critical Social Theory
Hero Ashman hero_ashman@berkeley.edu Gender, the family, economic inequality, social policy, quantitative methods
Ghaleb Attrache ghaleb@berkeley.edu Religion and spirituality, political sociology, revolutions, Middle East and North Africa
Audrey Augenbraum audrey.augenbraum@berkeley.edu Social movements, history of humanitarianism, immigration, religion
Jose Martin Av… jose_aveldanes@berkeley.edu Family, Quantitative & Computational Methods, Sexuality, Social Demography, Stratification and Inequality, Culture
Diego Ayala diegoca@berkeley.edu Comparative Historical Sociology, Political Economy, Political Sociology, Development, Agrarian Societies, Latin America, East Asia
Lindsay Bayham lindsay.bayham@berkeley.edu social networks, culture, communication, social & economic development, social theory, Africa
Lindsay Berkowitz lberkowitz@berkeley.edu medical sociology & gender; current project topics: women's health, chronic illness, integrative medicine, healthcare policy
Carmen Brick carmenbrick@berkeley.edu political sociology, social policy, sociology of work, stratification
Allison Brooke allisonbrooke@berkeley.edu wearable activity tracking devices, work, health/healthcare/health insurance, ranking/rating/risk, knowledge and classification, culture, surveillance
Jacqueline Brown jacqueline_brown@berkeley.edu Stratification, inequality, education, economic sociology
Paula Winicki … pwinicki@berkeley.edu Political Sociology, Social Movements, Labor, Latin America
Kimberly Burke kcburke@berkeley.edu Policing, State Violence, Inequality, Criminal Justice, Feminist Theory
Jenae Carpenter jmcarpenter@berkeley.edu
Elizabeth Torr… etorresc@berkeley.edu
Merzela Casimir merzela.casimir@berkeley.edu
Joshua Choper jbchoper@berkeley.edu Labor Markets, Work, Social Stratification and Inequality, Economic Sociology, Quantitative Methods
Naniette H. Coleman nhcoleman@berkeley.edu Culture, Organizations, Science and Technology Studies, Law and Society, Qualitative & Quantitative Methods, Computational Social Science
Isaac Dalke isaacdalke@berkeley.edu crime, punishment, and violence; bureaucracy; expertise; governance
Xavier Durham xavier_durham@berkeley.edu Political Sociology, Urban Sociology, Race and Inequality, Policing, Surveillance Technology, and Privatization
Margaret Eby margaret_eby@berkeley.edu Social History, Social Movements, Comparative Historical Sociology
Alinaya Sybill… ayafabros@berkeley.edu Globalization, political economy, urban sociology, transnational labor, offshore services, migration, outsourcing, social movements, South East Asia
Akilah Favors afavors93@berkeley.edu Ethnicity and Race, Social Movements
Benjamin Fields benjaminfields@berkeley.edu
Annette Gailliot annette_gailliot@berkeley.edu
Kristin George kristin.george@berkeley.edu My research focuses on racial, class, and gender inequality and on movements for social justice. My teaching interests include social movements, quantitative research methods, race, class, gender, organizations, migration, and religion.
Thomas Gepts tgepts@berkeley.edu Labor, environmental politics & history, social theories of nature
Justin Germain justin.germain@berkeley.edu Social Policy; Urban Sociology; Space and Gentrification; Inequality
Jeffrey M Gordon jeffgordon@berkeley.edu organizations, science and technology, law, historical methods, computational methods
Matthew Grumbach matthew_grumbach@berkeley.edu Historical Sociology, Social Movements, Theory
Tiffany Hamidjaja tiffanyhamidjaja@berkeley.edu
Thomas Haseloff tshaseloff@berkeley.edu Economic Sociology, Financialization
Cathy Hu cathy_hu@berkeley.edu penality, law and society, political sociology, collective action, ethnography
Janna Z. Huang jannahuang@berkeley.edu Science and Technology Studies, Knowledge, Economic Sociology, Environmental Sociology
Irem Inal ireminal@berkeley.edu
Andrew Jaeger ajaeger@berkeley.edu Political sociology, economic sociology, environment, theory
Xuan Jin xjin@berkeley.edu
David Joseph-G… djosephgoteiner@berkeley.edu Urban, Organizations, Technology, Culture
Michael Unger Kowen mkowen@berkeley.edu sociology of knowledge, social theory, science and technology studies, political sociology, China
Kirstin Krusell kirstin_krusell@berkeley.edu science and technology studies, labor/work, political sociology
Jessica Law jessicalaw@berkeley.edu race/ethnicity, political sociology, knowledge
Nikkolette Lee nikkolette_lee@berkeley.edu medical sociology, the body, medicalization and pathologization, fat studies, obesity, healthcare settings, social stigma
Tyler Leeds tyler_leeds@berkeley.edu Political Sociology, Media, Culture, Theory, Digital Studies
Jaqueline Lepe jlepe@berkeley.edu Crime and Punishment, Race, Gender, Inequality
Danyang Li danyangli@berkeley.edu culture and meaning, institutions and organizations, innovation and entrepreneurship, network science and computer linguistics
Max Lindquist max.lindquist@berkeley.edu Economic Sociology, Organizations, Sociology of Quantification
Daniel Lobo daniel_lobo@berkeley.edu
Louise Ly louisely@berkeley.edu Race, ethnicity, gender, immigration, sexuality, and aging
Antonia Mardon… mardones_antonia@berkeley.edu International migration, race and ethnicity, national identities, Latin America.
Elizabeth McKenna emckenna@berkeley.edu Political sociology, social movements, organizational theory, stratification, social networks, Brazil
Sarah Merchant sarah.merchant@berkeley.edu racial/imperial capitalism, spiritual ontology, mysticisms, secularization, Islam, post-colonial South Asia
Meghna Mukherjee meghna_mukherjee@berkeley.edu Gender, Medical Sociology, Fertility and Genetic Technologies, Reproduction, South Asia
Nataliya Nedzh… nataliyan@berkeley.edu economic sociology, organizations, science and technology studies
Kristen N. Nelson kristen.n.nelson@berkeley.edu Race and Ethnicity, Racial Attitudes, Quantitative Methods, Social Psychology, Political Sociology, Gender
Dhurata Osmani dosmani@berkeley.edu Political sociology; gender; globalization and development; post-conflict societies; Kosovo; Rwanda; Haiti
Anthony Palafox anthony.palafox@berkeley.edu Education, Expectations, Inequality
Anna Palmer annapalmer@berkeley.edu Immigration and Migration; Caribbean; Latin America; Climate Crisis; Qualitative and Spatial Methods; Political Sociology
Joohyun Park jp53@berkeley.edu Gender, Law and Society, Medical Sociology, Social Movement
Natalie Pasquinelli natalie_pasquinelli@berkeley.edu
Sarah Payne spayne@berkeley.edu inequality, social reproduction, race and ethnicity, culture, affect and emotion, economic sociology, education
Reubén Pérez reubenp@berkeley.edu Production of Population Data, Census, Latin America and the Caribbean, Political Sociology, Race and Ethnic Relations
Khoi Quach k_quach@berkeley.edu penality and political economy with an emphasis on technology
Kelly Quinn kellyquinn@berkeley.edu Economic sociology, work, and labor markets
Adriana Ramirez apramirez@berkeley.edu Migration, Citizenship, Race & Ethnicity, Nationalism, Latin America
William Rathje wrathje@berkeley.edu
Angel Mendiola Ross a.ross@berkeley.edu (sub)urban sociology, race and inequality, housing, and policing
Emily Ruppel emily_ruppel@berkeley.edu Medical Sociology, Labor and Organizations, Gender, Culture, Knowledge
Paul Salamanca paul_s@berkeley.edu gender, sexuality, ethnoracialization, postcoloniality, political sociology
Jasmine Sanders jmsanders@berkeley.edu organizations, culture, inequality, workplace practices & policies
Michaeljit Sandhu Sandhu.michaeljit@berkeley.edu
Maria-Fátima Santos fsantos@berkeley.edu social theory, law and legal professionals, punishment and inequality, political sociology, work and occupations, Latin America/Global South
Lara Schiffrin-Sands lara.schiffrinsands@berkeley.edu
Jessica Schirmer jess.schirmer@berkeley.edu urban sociology, political sociology, welfare state, housing
Mary Shi mary.shi@berkeley.edu Political economy, historical sociology, the state, society and space, urban sociology
Maria Smith mariasmith@berkeley.edu Data Surveillance & Privacy, Sociology of Law/Penality, Race, and Mixed Methods
Miranda Smith msmith13@berkeley.edu gender, sexuality, political sociology, theory, stratification
Jonathan Matth… jsmucker@berkeley.edu political sociology, political strategy, social movements, culture, class, identity, hegemony
Kiran Stallone kiran_stallone@berkeley.edu Gender, Political Sociology
Matthew J. Stimpson mstimp@berkeley.edu culture, stratification, economic sociology, quantitative methods
Garrett Strain garretts@berkeley.edu Labor, Financialization, Political Sociology
David Su davidsu@berkeley.edu Social Networks, Migration, Social Movement, Social Inequality in Health, Organizations, Political Sociology, Computational Analysis
Eylem Taylan eylem_taylan@berkeley.edu Labor, Governmentality Studies, Comparative-Historical Sociology, Development, Social Theory
Luis Tenorio luistenorio94@gmail.com Immigration and Migration; Children and Youth; Political Sociology
Trinel Torian ttorian@berkeley.edu
Paula Uniacke uniacke@berkeley.edu gender, development, social change, gender-based violence, global campaigns, transnational feminism, NGOs, India, South Asia, water, sanitation
Byron Villacis byronvillacis@berkeley.edu Global & Transnational Sociology, Sociology of Statistics, Sociology of Expertise, Public Policy and Sociology of Corruption.
Skyler Wang skyler.wang@berkeley.edu Technology, AI, Sharing Economy, Economic Sociology, Online Dating, Culture
Leigh Welch leigh_welch@berkeley.edu
William Welsh wwelsh@berkeley.edu Historical development of labor markets in China, England, Japan and Scotland.
Allen Micheal Wright allenmicheal@berkeley.edu Urban Sociology, Sociology of Law, Economic Sociology
Yueran Zhang yueranzhang@berkeley.edu Comparative-historical sociology, political economy, state and class politics, (de)mobilizations, production and social reproduction, development, global and transnational, theory