Graduate Students

Name Contact Information Special Interests
Nadia Almasalkhi nadiaalmasalkhi@berkeley.edu forced migrations, xenophobia, the Levant, postcolonial theory, urban geography, transnationalism
Diego Aristizabal daristi@berkeley.edu Urban and Political Sociology, Bicycle Urbanism, Political Violence, Colonialism in the Caribbean, Latin American Development, Comparative Ethnography, Critical Social Theory
Hero Ashman hero_ashman@berkeley.edu
Ghaleb Attrache ghaleb@berkeley.edu Religion and spirituality, political sociology, revolutions, Middle East and North Africa
Jose Martin Av… jose_aveldanes@berkeley.edu Family, Population Health, Quantitative Methods, Sexuality, Social Demography, Stratification and Inequality
Alex V Barnard avbarnard@berkeley.edu Medical Sociology, Political Sociology, Social Policy, Mental Health, Comparative Sociology, Social Theory, Ethnography
Lindsay Bayham lindsay.bayham@berkeley.edu social networks, culture, communication, social & economic development, social theory, Africa
Lindsay Berkowitz lberkowitz@berkeley.edu medical sociology & gender; current project topics: women's health, chronic illness, integrative medicine, healthcare policy
Boroka Bo borokabo@berkeley.edu sociotemporal inequalities, stratification, health, migration, demography, gender
Carmen Brick carmenbrick@berkeley.edu political sociology, sociology of work, stratification, social policy
Allison Brooke allisonbrooke@berkeley.edu wearable activity tracking devices, work, health/healthcare/health insurance, ranking/rating/risk, knowledge and classification, culture, surveillance
Jonah Stuart B… jstuartbrundage@berkeley.edu Political sociology; economic sociology; historical and comparative sociology; global and transnational sociology; sociology of elites; social theory; sociology of culture
Kimberly Burke kcburke@berkeley.edu Policing, State Violence, Inequality, Criminal Justice, Feminist Theory
Jesus Camacho jmcamach@berkeley.edu Incarceration, Ethnicity and Race, Political Sociology, Social Theory
Merzela Casimir merzela.casimir@berkeley.edu
Andy Scott Chang andy.chang@berkeley.edu International Migration, Gender, Development, Political Sociology, Social Theory, Southeast Asia
Esther Yoona Cho esther.cho@berkeley.edu immigration, illegality, race/ethnicity, family, education
Joshua Choper jbchoper@berkeley.edu Labor Markets, Work, Social Stratification and Inequality, Economic Sociology, Quantitative Methods
Pil H. Chung pchung@demog.berkeley.edu family, demography, life course, and race
Naniette H. Coleman nhcoleman@berkeley.edu Organizations, Work, Culture, Political Sociology
Jessica F. Compton jfcompton@berkeley.edu stratification, economic sociology, race, gender, work, mixed methods
Isaac Dalke isaacdalke@berkeley.edu bureaucratic decision-making, crime and punishment, the welfare state, gender and sexuality
Xavier Durham xavier_durham@berkeley.edu Political Sociology, Race and Ethnicity, Policing and Criminal Justice, Surveillance Technology
Margaret Eby margaret_eby@berkeley.edu Social History, Social Movements, Comparative Historical Sociology
Michel Estefan mestefan@berkeley.edu Social theory, political sociology, law and society, comparative and historical sociology, methods, human rights, Latin America, Spain, innovations in inclusive pedagogy and teaching
Alinaya Sybill… ayafabros@berkeley.edu Globalization, political economy, urban sociology, transnational labor, offshore services, migration, outsourcing, social movements, South East Asia
Akilah Favors afavors93@berkeley.edu Ethnicity and Race, Social Movements
Gregory Michae… gmfayard@berkeley.edu China, medical sociology, social psychology, disasters, transportation
Jason L. Ferguson jlferg@berkeley.edu Neo-institutional theory; field analysis; global and transnational studies; sociology of law; sociology of sexuality; sociology of culture; postcolonial studies; social theory; quantitative and qualitative methods; multiple correspondence analysis
Katy Fox-Hodess katyrose@berkeley.edu Labor, globalization, political economy, political sociology
Isabel García-… isabel.garcia@berkeley.edu Immigration, Family, Latinx Sociology, Aging, Law & Society, Education
Kristin George kristin.george@berkeley.edu Slavery and religion in Antebellum America, Islam in the Contemporary US, social movements, culture and morality, historical sociology, gender
Tara Marie Gonsalves taragonsalves@berkeley.edu gender and sexuality, political economy, globalization, development, transnational sociology, social movements
Jeffrey M Gordon jeffgordon@berkeley.edu organizations, science and technology, law, historical methods, computational methods
Matthew Grumbach matthew_grumbach@berkeley.edu Historical Sociology, Social Movements, Theory
Jaren R. Haber jhaber@berkeley.edu Organizations, Education, Social Psychology, Computational Text Analysis
Chris Herring christoph.herring@berkeley.edu Urban Sociology, Poverty, Criminal Justice, Welfare, Work, Housing and Homelessness, Social Theory, Ethnography, Qualitative Methods, Community Action Research, Social Policy.
Casey P. Homan caseyhoman@berkeley.edu Religion, organizations, quantitative methods, immigration
Katherine Hood khood@berkeley.edu punishment, law & society, economic sociology, expertise, poverty & inequality
Shannon Ikebe shannon.ikebe@berkeley.edu political sociology, political economy, labor, comparative-historical
Irem Inal ireminal@berkeley.edu
Véronique Irwin virwin@berkeley.edu Education, Inequality
Andrew Jaeger ajaeger@berkeley.edu Political sociology, economic sociology, environment, theory
Xuan Jin xjin@berkeley.edu
David Joseph-G… djosephgoteiner@berkeley.edu Urban, Organizations, Inequality, Theory, Race and Ethnic Minorities
Samuel Kieke samuel.kieke@berkeley.edu Political Sociology, Middle East and North Africa, Immigration, Comparative Historical Sociology
Carter M. Koppelman carter.koppelman@berkeley.edu Development, Urban Sociology, Political Sociology, Gender, Social Movements, Latin America
Michael Unger Kowen mkowen@berkeley.edu sociology of knowledge, social theory, science and technology studies, political sociology, China
Kirstin Krusell kirstin_krusell@berkeley.edu Labor, Technology, Globalization, Development
Joe LaBriola joelabriola@berkeley.edu inequality, precarious work, family demography, economic sociology
Tyler Leeds tyler_leeds@berkeley.edu Rural & Urban Sociology, Gender, Political Sociology, Higher Education
Seth Leibson sleibson@berkeley.edu Social Movements, Labor, Immigration, Organizations
Jaqueline Lepe jlepe@berkeley.edu
Matty Lichtenstein mlicht@berkeley.edu Social policy, political sociology, gender and family, religion, mixed methods, state theory, organizational theory
Yang Lor yanglor@berkeley.edu Education, Poverty, Culture, Social Stratification, Race/Ethnicity, Asian Americans
Sigrid Willa Luhr sigridluhr@berkeley.edu Work, Family, Gender, Inequality, Technology Industry
Louise Ly louisely@berkeley.edu Race, ethnicity, immigration, family, gender, aging
Antonia Mardon… mardones_antonia@berkeley.edu International migration, race and ethnicity, national identities, Latin America.
Elizabeth McKenna emckenna@berkeley.edu Political sociology, social movements, organizational theory, stratification, social networks, Brazil
Nallely Mejia nmejia@berkeley.edu Immigration, Health, Inequality, Mexico
Michael Menefee menefeem@berkeley.edu Punishment and Incarceration, Poverty, Education, Social Stratification, Applied Econometrics
Santiago J. Molina santiagojmolina@berkeley.edu Science, Knowledge, Race/Ethnicity, Organizations, Biomedicine, Bioethics, Latin America
Meghna Mukherjee meghna_mukherjee@berkeley.edu Gender, Medical Sociology, Fertility and Genetic Technologies, Reproductive Labor, South Asia
Nataliya Nedzh… nataliyan@berkeley.edu economic sociology, sociology of knowledge, labor, globalization, science & technology studies
Kristen N Nelson kristen.n.nelson@berkeley.edu Race and Ethnicity, Racial Bias, Social Psychology
Dhurata Osmani dosmani@berkeley.edu Political sociology; gender; globalization and development; post-conflict societies; Kosovo; Rwanda; Haiti
Joohyun Park jp53@berkeley.edu Political Sociology, Social Movement, Culture
Sarah Payne spayne@berkeley.edu
Thomas Peng tfpeng@berkeley.edu Labor, Work and Occupation, Development, Migration, China
Reuben Perez reubenp@berkeley.edu Official Ethnoracial Categorization, Political Sociology, Latin America and the Caribbean with an emphasis on the Dominican Republic
Michelle Eliza… m.phillips@berkeley.edu Political Sociology; human rights; Immigration; Economic Sociology; Gender; Inequality and Poverty
Robert Pickett rpickett@berkeley.edu Quantitative Methodology, Race, Cultural Sociology
Kelly Quinn kellyquinn@berkeley.edu Economic sociology; social stratification; quantitative methods
Adriana Ramirez apramirez@berkeley.edu Migration, Citizenship, Ethnicity and Race, Identity, Latin America
Alexander Roehrkasse roehrkasse@berkeley.edu Economic, political, comparative–historical, family, theory, methodology
Angel Ross a.ross@berkeley.edu
Michele Rossi mlrossi@berkeley.edu political sociology, theory, class cultures, gender, morality, inequalities and social mobility
Matthew S. Rowe mrowe@berkeley.edu Culture; the creative economy; work and occupations; self and identity; organizations and institutions; higher education; sexuality; health.
Emily Ruppel emily_ruppel@berkeley.edu Gender, Labor and Organizations, Culture, Knowledge, Health and Disability
Jasmine Sanders jmsanders@berkeley.edu
Michaeljit Sandhu Sandhu.michaeljit@berkeley.edu
Maria-Fátima Santos fsantos@berkeley.edu penality; violence and the state; law and international development; transnational drug control; social theory; Latin America
Jessica Schirmer jess.schirmer@berkeley.edu urban sociology, political sociology, welfare state, housing
Krista Schnell kkschnell@berkeley.edu gender, science and technology, sociology of sport, organizations
Caleb Scoville scoville@berkeley.edu Environmental Sociology, Science and Technology Studies, Cultural Sociology, Political Sociology, Economic Sociology, Law and Society, Social and Political Theory, Qualitative and Computational Methods
Dmitri Seals dseals@berkeley.edu race, culture, political sociology, class, democratic theory
Alicia Sheares amsheares@berkeley.edu
Benjamin Shest… bshestakofsky@berkeley.edu Sociology of work; technology and society; economic sociology; qualitative research methods; organizational culture; digital geographies
Mary Shi mary.shi@berkeley.edu Political economy, historical sociology, the state, urban sociology, everyday life
David Showalter davidshowalter@berkeley.edu health, law, politics, crime, punishment, drugs
Fabiana Silva fabiana.silva@berkeley.edu Inequality and Stratification, Labor Market Stratification, Economic Sociology, Race and Ethnicity, Immigration, Social Networks, Social Psychology, Experimental Methods, Quantitative Methods
Shadrick Small sasmall@berkeley.edu race & gender, culture, sociology of music
Maria Smith mariasmith@berkeley.edu Data Surveillance & Privacy, Sociology of Law/Penality, Race, and Mixed Methods
Miranda Smith msmith13@berkeley.edu gender, sexuality, political sociology, theory, stratification
Jonathan Matth… jsmucker@berkeley.edu political sociology, political strategy, social movements, culture, class, identity, hegemony
Kiran Stallone kiran_stallone@berkeley.edu Gender, Political Sociology
Shelly Steward steward@berkeley.edu Work, culture, economic sociology, risk and insecurity, moral understandings, symbolic boundaries
Matthew J. Stimpson mstimp@berkeley.edu culture, stratification, economic sociology, quantitative methods
Adam Storer adamstorer@berkeley.edu Sociology of Work, Economic Sociology, Social Networks, Quantitative Methods
Garrett Strain garretts@berkeley.edu Labor, Financialization, Political Sociology
Luis Tenorio luistenorio94@gmail.com Immigration and Migration; Children and Youth; Political Sociology
Trinel Torian ttorian@berkeley.edu
Thomas Trieu thomas.trieu@berkeley.edu globalization, economic inequality, Southeast Asia, urban education
Fithawee Tzeggai fithawee@berkeley.edu Sociology of Knowledge, Sociology of Race, Sociology of Education, Urban Sociology, Political Sociology
Paula Uniacke uniacke@berkeley.edu gender, development, social change, gender-based violence, global campaigns, transnational feminism, NGOs, India, South Asia, water, sanitation
Byron Villacis byronvillacis@berkeley.edu Social Mobility, Development, Inequality, Migration, Public Statistics, Political Sociology.
Skyler Wang skyler.wang@berkeley.edu Culture, Online Dating, Economic Sociology, Sharing Economy, Sexualities, Organizations
William James Welsh wwelsh@berkeley.edu China, penality, political sociology, education, historical sociology
Jeffrey Weng jeffrey.weng@berkeley.edu Political sociology, nationalism, comparative historical sociology, sociology of language, social theory, China
Rachel Wetts rachel.wetts@berkeley.edu Political psychology, environmental sociology, race, sociology of culture, social psychology, organizational sociology, social theory, computational methods
Paula Winicki pwinicki@berkeley.edu Political Sociology, Social Movements, Labor, Latin America
Allen Micheal Wright allenmicheal@berkeley.edu Urban Sociology, Sociology of Law, Economic Sociology
Ugur Yildirim ugur.yildirim@berkeley.edu social networks, social stratification, quantitative and computational methods
Yueran Zhang yueranzhang@berkeley.edu Comparative-Historical Sociology, Political Economy, State and Class Politics, Mobilizations and Demobilizations, Development, Global and Transnational, Theory