Graduate Students

Name Contact Information Special Interests
Alonzo Ackerman alonzoackerman@berkeley.edu
Timothy Ahn timahn7@berkeley.edu
Sally-Ann Akuetteh sallyann_a@berkeley.edu
Nadia Almasalkhi nadiaalmasalkhi@berkeley.edu forced migrations, xenophobia, the Levant, postcolonial theory, urban geography, transnationalism
Elena Amaya elena_amaya@berkeley.edu
Aja Antoine ajaantoine@berkeley.edu
Diego Aristizabal daristi@berkeley.edu Urban and Political Sociology, Bicycle Urbanism, Political Violence, Colonialism in the Caribbean, Latin American Development, Comparative Ethnography, Critical Social Theory
Hero Ashman hero_ashman@berkeley.edu
Ghaleb Attrache ghaleb@berkeley.edu Religion and spirituality, political sociology, revolutions, Middle East and North Africa
Audrey Augenbraum audrey.augenbraum@berkeley.edu Social movements, history of humanitarianism, immigration, religion
Jose Martin Av… jose_aveldanes@berkeley.edu Family, Population Health, Quantitative Methods, Sexuality, Social Demography, Stratification and Inequality
Alex V Barnard avbarnard@berkeley.edu Medical Sociology, Political Sociology, Social Policy, Mental Health, Comparative Sociology, Social Theory, Ethnography
Lindsay Bayham lindsay.bayham@berkeley.edu social networks, culture, communication, social & economic development, social theory, Africa
Lindsay Berkowitz lberkowitz@berkeley.edu medical sociology & gender; current project topics: women's health, chronic illness, integrative medicine, healthcare policy
Boróka Bó borokabo@berkeley.edu Stratification, Well-being, Aging, Sociology of the Family, Social Networks, Gender, Demography
Carmen Brick carmenbrick@berkeley.edu political sociology, sociology of work, stratification, social policy
Allison Brooke allisonbrooke@berkeley.edu wearable activity tracking devices, work, health/healthcare/health insurance, ranking/rating/risk, knowledge and classification, culture, surveillance
Kimberly Burke kcburke@berkeley.edu Policing, State Violence, Inequality, Criminal Justice, Feminist Theory
Jesus Camacho jmcamach@berkeley.edu Incarceration, Ethnicity and Race, Political Sociology, Social Theory
Jenae Carpenter jmcarpenter@berkeley.edu
Elizabeth Torr… etorresc@berkeley.edu
Merzela Casimir merzela.casimir@berkeley.edu
Andy Scott Chang andy.chang@berkeley.edu
Esther Yoona Cho esther.cho@berkeley.edu immigration, illegality, race/ethnicity, family, education
Joshua Choper jbchoper@berkeley.edu Labor Markets, Work, Social Stratification and Inequality, Economic Sociology, Quantitative Methods
Pil H. Chung pchung@demog.berkeley.edu family, demography, life course, and race
Naniette H. Coleman nhcoleman@berkeley.edu Culture, Organizations, Science and Technology Studies, Law and Society, Qualitative & Quantitative Methods, Computational Social Science
Jessica F. Compton jfcompton@berkeley.edu stratification, economic sociology, race, gender, work, mixed methods
Isaac Dalke isaacdalke@berkeley.edu bureaucratic decision-making, crime and punishment, the welfare state, gender and sexuality
Xavier Durham xavier_durham@berkeley.edu Political Sociology, Race and Inequality, Policing, Surveillance Technology, and Privatization
Margaret Eby margaret_eby@berkeley.edu Social History, Social Movements, Comparative Historical Sociology
Martin Eiermann eiermann@berkeley.edu social movements, political sociology, cultural sociology, social theory
Alinaya Sybill… ayafabros@berkeley.edu Globalization, political economy, urban sociology, transnational labor, offshore services, migration, outsourcing, social movements, South East Asia
Akilah Favors afavors93@berkeley.edu Ethnicity and Race, Social Movements
Gregory Michae… gmfayard@berkeley.edu China, medical sociology, social psychology, disasters, transportation
Benjamin Fields benjaminfields@berkeley.edu
Katy Fox-Hodess katyrose@berkeley.edu Labor, globalization, political economy, political sociology
Isabel García-… isabel.garcia@berkeley.edu immigration, life course and aging, race & ethncity, stratification, family, Latinx sociology, law & society, and education
Kristin George kristin.george@berkeley.edu Slavery and religion in Antebellum America, Islam in the Contemporary US, social movements, culture and morality, historical sociology, gender
Thomas Gepts tgepts@berkeley.edu Labor, collective action, environmental politics & history, social theories of nature
Justin Germain justin.germain@berkeley.edu Social Policy; Urban Sociology; Space and Gentrification; Inequality
Tara Gonsalves taragonsalves@berkeley.edu gender and sexuality, classification, globalization, political sociology, medical sociology, social movements, science and technology studies
Jeffrey M Gordon jeffgordon@berkeley.edu organizations, science and technology, law, historical methods, computational methods
Matthew Grumbach matthew_grumbach@berkeley.edu Historical Sociology, Social Movements, Theory
Jaren R. Haber jhaber@berkeley.edu Organizations, Education, Computational Text Analysis, School Choice, Stratification, Quantitative Methods
Tiffany Hamidjaja tiffanyhamidjaja@berkeley.edu
Thomas Haseloff tshaseloff@berkeley.edu Economic Sociology, Financialization, Work
Casey P. Homan caseyhoman@berkeley.edu Religion, organizations, race/ethnicity, urban sociology, immigration, quantitative methods
Katherine Hood khood@berkeley.edu punishment, law & society, economic sociology, expertise, poverty & inequality
Cathy Hu cathy_hu@berkeley.edu penality, law and society, political sociology, collective action, ethnography
Janna Huang jannahuang@berkeley.edu
Shannon Ikebe shannon.ikebe@berkeley.edu political sociology, political economy, labor, comparative-historical
Irem Inal ireminal@berkeley.edu
Andrew Jaeger ajaeger@berkeley.edu Political sociology, economic sociology, environment, theory
Xuan Jin xjin@berkeley.edu
David Joseph-G… djosephgoteiner@berkeley.edu Urban, Organizations, Inequality, Theory, Race and Ethnic Minorities
Samuel Kieke samuel.kieke@berkeley.edu Political Sociology, Middle East and North Africa, Immigration, Comparative Historical Sociology
Carter M. Koppelman carter.koppelman@berkeley.edu Development, Urban Sociology, Political Sociology, Gender, Social Movements, Latin America
Michael Unger Kowen mkowen@berkeley.edu sociology of knowledge, social theory, science and technology studies, political sociology, China
Kirstin Krusell kirstin_krusell@berkeley.edu science and technology studies, labor/work, political sociology
Joe LaBriola joelabriola@berkeley.edu inequality, demography, housing, family, work
Steven Lauterwasser swlauterwasser@berkeley.edu Polarization, Social Movements, Cultural Sociology, Historical Sociology, Social Theory
Jessica Law jessicalaw@berkeley.edu race/ethnicity, political sociology, knowledge
Nikkolette Lee nikkolette_lee@berkeley.edu medical sociology, the body, medicalization and pathologization, fat studies, obesity, healthcare settings, social stigma
Tyler Leeds tyler_leeds@berkeley.edu Journalism, Political Sociology, and Higher Education
Seth Leibson sleibson@berkeley.edu Social Movements, Labor, Immigration, Organizations
Jaqueline Lepe jlepe@berkeley.edu
Danyang Li danyangli@berkeley.edu culture and meaning, institutions and organizations, innovation and entrepreneurship, network science and computer linguistics
Matty Lichtenstein mlicht@berkeley.edu Politics, gender, law, health, organizations, religion, maternal and child welfare policy
Daniel Lobo daniel_lobo@berkeley.edu
Yang Lor yanglor@berkeley.edu Education, Poverty, Culture, Social Stratification, Race/Ethnicity, Asian Americans
Sigrid Willa Luhr sigridluhr@berkeley.edu Work, Family, Gender, Inequality, Technology Industry
Louise Ly louisely@berkeley.edu Race, ethnicity, immigration, family, gender, aging
Antonia Mardon… mardones_antonia@berkeley.edu International migration, race and ethnicity, national identities, Latin America.
Elizabeth McKenna emckenna@berkeley.edu Political sociology, social movements, organizational theory, stratification, social networks, Brazil
Nallely Mejia nmejia@berkeley.edu Immigration, Health, Inequality, Mexico
Michael Menefee menefeem@berkeley.edu Law and Society, Punishment, Poverty, Social Stratification, Education, and Social Policy
Sarah Merchant sarah.merchant@berkeley.edu postcolonialism, cultural studies, secularism, Islam in South Asia, transnational movements, historical methods
Santiago J. Molina santiagojmolina@berkeley.edu Science, Knowledge, Race/Ethnicity, Organizations, Biomedicine, Bioethics, Latin America
Meghna Mukherjee meghna_mukherjee@berkeley.edu Gender, Medical Sociology, Fertility and Genetic Technologies, Reproductive Labor, South Asia
Nataliya Nedzh… nataliyan@berkeley.edu economic sociology, organizations, labor, sociology of knowledge
Kristen N Nelson kristen.n.nelson@berkeley.edu Race and Ethnicity, Racial Bias, Social Psychology
Dhurata Osmani dosmani@berkeley.edu Political sociology; gender; globalization and development; post-conflict societies; Kosovo; Rwanda; Haiti
Anthony Palafox anthony.palafox@berkeley.edu Education, Expectations, Inequality
Joohyun Park jp53@berkeley.edu Political Sociology, Social Movement, Culture
Natalie Pasquinelli natalie_pasquinelli@berkeley.edu
Sarah Payne spayne@berkeley.edu education, inequality, economic sociology, welfare states, risk, debt, race/ethnicity, gender, affect, emotion
Thomas Peng tfpeng@berkeley.edu Labor, Work and Occupation, Development, Migration, China
Reubén Pérez reubenp@berkeley.edu Production of Population Data, Census, Latin America and the Caribbean, Political Sociology, Race and Ethnic Relations
Clara Perez cbperez@berkeley.edu
Michelle Eliza… m.phillips@berkeley.edu Political Sociology; human rights; Immigration; Economic Sociology; Gender; Inequality and Poverty
Robert Pickett rpickett@berkeley.edu Quantitative Methodology, Race, Cultural Sociology
Khoi Quach k_quach@berkeley.edu penality and political economy with an emphasis on technology
Kelly Quinn kellyquinn@berkeley.edu Economic sociology; labor markets; quantitative methods
Adriana Ramirez apramirez@berkeley.edu Migration, Citizenship, Race & Ethnicity, Identity, Latin America
William Rathje wrathje@berkeley.edu
Angel Mendiola Ross a.ross@berkeley.edu (sub)urban sociology, race and inequality, housing, and policing
Michele Rossi mlrossi@berkeley.edu political sociology, theory, class cultures, gender, morality, inequalities and social mobility
Emily Ruppel emily_ruppel@berkeley.edu Medical Sociology, Labor and Organizations, Gender, Culture, Knowledge
Paul Salamanca paul_s@berkeley.edu gender, sexuality, ethnoracialization, postcoloniality, political sociology
Jasmine Sanders jmsanders@berkeley.edu organizations, culture, inequality, workplace practices & policies
Michaeljit Sandhu Sandhu.michaeljit@berkeley.edu
Maria-Fátima Santos fsantos@berkeley.edu penality; violence and the state; law and international development; transnational drug control; social theory; Latin America
Lara Schiffrin-Sands lara.schiffrinsands@berkeley.edu
Jessica Schirmer jess.schirmer@berkeley.edu urban sociology, political sociology, welfare state, housing
Krista Schnell kkschnell@berkeley.edu gender, science and technology, sociology of sport, organizations
Caleb Scoville scoville@berkeley.edu Environmental Sociology, Science and Technology Studies, Cultural Sociology, Political Sociology, Economic Sociology, Law and Society, Social and Political Theory, Qualitative and Computational Methods
Dmitri Seals dseals@berkeley.edu race, culture, political sociology, class, democratic theory
Alicia Sheares amsheares@berkeley.edu
Benjamin Shest… bshestakofsky@berkeley.edu Sociology of work; technology and society; economic sociology; qualitative research methods; organizational culture; digital geographies
Mary Shi mary.shi@berkeley.edu Political economy, historical sociology, the state, society and space, urban sociology
David Showalter davidshowalter@berkeley.edu health, crime, law, punishment, politics, everyday life, drugs
Fabiana Silva fabiana.silva@berkeley.edu Inequality and Stratification, Labor Market Stratification, Economic Sociology, Race and Ethnicity, Immigration, Social Networks, Social Psychology, Experimental Methods, Quantitative Methods
Michaela Simmons mcsimmons@berkeley.edu American welfare state, poverty, racial inequality
Shadrick Small sasmall@berkeley.edu race & ethnicity, culture, social fields, sociology of knowledge, social networks, sociology of music, production of culture, canonization, US recording industry (pre-WWII), slavery in Spanish Lousiana
Maria Smith mariasmith@berkeley.edu Data Surveillance & Privacy, Sociology of Law/Penality, Race, and Mixed Methods
Miranda Smith msmith13@berkeley.edu gender, sexuality, political sociology, theory, stratification
Jonathan Matth… jsmucker@berkeley.edu political sociology, political strategy, social movements, culture, class, identity, hegemony
Kiran Stallone kiran_stallone@berkeley.edu Gender, Political Sociology
Shelly Steward steward@berkeley.edu Work, culture, economic sociology, risk and insecurity, moral understandings, symbolic boundaries
Matthew J. Stimpson mstimp@berkeley.edu culture, stratification, economic sociology, quantitative methods
Adam Storer adamstorer@berkeley.edu Sociology of Work, Economic Sociology, Social Networks, Quantitative Methods, Computational Text Analysis
Garrett Strain garretts@berkeley.edu Labor, Financialization, Political Sociology
Phung N. Su pnsu@berkeley.edu Gender, globalization, migration, inter-Asia
Eylem Taylan eylem_taylan@berkeley.edu Labor, Governmentality Studies, Comparative-Historical Sociology, Development, Social Theory
Luis Tenorio luistenorio94@gmail.com Immigration and Migration; Children and Youth; Political Sociology
Trinel Torian ttorian@berkeley.edu
Thomas Trieu thomas.trieu@berkeley.edu globalization, economic inequality, Southeast Asia, urban education
Fithawee Tzeggai fithawee@berkeley.edu Sociology of Knowledge, Sociology of Race, Sociology of Education, Urban Sociology, Political Sociology
Paula Uniacke uniacke@berkeley.edu gender, development, social change, gender-based violence, global campaigns, transnational feminism, NGOs, India, South Asia, water, sanitation
Byron Villacis byronvillacis@berkeley.edu Social Mobility, Development, Inequality, Migration, Public Statistics, Political Sociology.
Skyler Wang skyler.wang@berkeley.edu Culture, Online Dating, Economic Sociology, Sharing Economy, Sexualities, Organizations
William Welsh wwelsh@berkeley.edu comparative-historical sociology
Jeffrey Weng jeffrey.weng@berkeley.edu Currently a Shorenstein Postdoctoral Fellow in Contemporary Asia at Stanford University, Jeffrey received his Ph.D. in sociology from UC Berkeley in May 2020. His research centers on the politics of language, ethnoracial formation and nation-building in China, and his work has appeared in the Journal of Asian Studies, Theory & Society, and the European Journal of Sociology.
Rachel Wetts rachel.wetts@berkeley.edu Political psychology, environmental sociology, race, sociology of culture, social psychology, organizational sociology, social theory, computational methods
Paula Winicki pwinicki@berkeley.edu Political Sociology, Social Movements, Labor, Latin America
Allen Micheal Wright allenmicheal@berkeley.edu Urban Sociology, Sociology of Law, Economic Sociology
Ugur Yildirim ugur.yildirim@berkeley.edu My dissertation investigates the impact of inequality perceptions on distributional preferences using survey and behavioral experimental methods. Visit my personal website for my recent publications and working papers.
Yueran Zhang yueranzhang@berkeley.edu Comparative-Historical Sociology, Political Economy, State and Class Politics, Mobilizations and Demobilizations, Development, Global and Transnational, Theory